Pharma Award

Since the year 2000, the Awards for Innovation and Sustainability “The Golden Tablet” and “Most Innovative Product” have been granted to pharmaceutical companies. The recipients of the “Golden Tablet” award, also known as the Pharma Oscar, are chosen with regard to the Pharma Trend survey, which reveals the most innovative and sustainable pharmaceutical companies within a field of study. For this survey, conducted on behalf of the trade journal Pharma Barometer, doctors with various specializations complete an online questionnaire about sustainability and innovation in the pharmaceutical industry.

Pharma Trend – Image & Innovation Award 2017

On September 12, the winners of the “Golden Tablet” and “Most Innovative Product“ awards were named at the “Pharma Trend – Image & Innovation” awards ceremony. Additionally, the Pharma Trend ranking of the best pharmaceutical companies was published for the second time. The opening speech was held by Melanie Huml, Minister of Bavarian State Ministry of Health and Care.

The 18th annual award ceremony took place this year at the Deutsches Museum in Munich, and around 120 guests were present to attend from the marketing, medical and distribution sectors of the pharmaceutical industry.

The evening was hosted by television presenter Tamara Sedmak (Sat 1, n-tv, N24), who already brought a refreshing charm to the ceremonies when she hosted the previous years’ events.

The speeches at the Pharma Trend Image & Innovation awards ceremony were given by Prof. Dr. Kai Lucks, President of German Association Mergers & Acquisitions on the topic of “Digital Transformation of Business Processes – Prospects and Challenges” and Dr. Thomas Rodenhausen, from the Management Board at Harris Interactive, with the topic “ Innovation & digitization and the role of market research ”.

This year’s ceremony’s partners and sponsors include Ashfield, Bundesverband Mergers & Acquisitions, Cross m, Harris Interactive, IDV, Kupconcept, Marriott, Munich Drivers and Nestle Waters.

The awards ceremony was filmed and will be made available on Pharma Trend’s YouTube channel. The ceremony’s media partners include coliquio, the physician portal, Gelbe Liste Pharmindex, GFI and PharmaBarometer, the trade journal for innovation and sustainability.

Pharma Award: Golden Tablet

The Golden Tablet Award for the best pharmaceutical companyThe decisive factors in choosing a winner for the “Golden Tablet” Pharma award are; the quality of information about field staff, further education, information on the product and pricing, as well as the companies’ research activities and innovative strength, value for money, and the quality of the products. It became apparent that the doctors place a lot of value on the research and development services of the Golden Tablet winners, as well as on transparent information about the companies. It is also clear that the doctors think that the companies’ resistance to corruption is highly important. In terms of the medications themselves, the most important considerations were the effectiveness and tolerability of the products, and the benefits observed in application of the treatments to date.

“The Golden Tablet” 2017 Award Recipients

During the Pharma Trend 2017 survey, respondents were made up of doctors from the following disciplines: General Practice & Internal Medicine, Cardiology, Dermatology, Diabetology, Gastroenterology, Gynecology, Neurology, Pediatrics und Urology as well as Oncology, which are also in high demand from patients. The survey was conducted between May and July 2017.

The winners of the award are the follows:

  • Astellas Pharma (Urology)
  • Biogen (Neurology)
  • Infectopharm (Pediatrics)
  • Jenapharm (Gynecology)
  • Lilly (Diabetology)
  • Roche Pharma (Oncology)

“The Golden Tablet” Award Winners since 2000:

YearGeneral Practice & Internal MedicineNeurologyUrologyDermatologyENT medicineGynecologyPediatricsPneumologyOrthopedics and RheumatologyDiabetologyCardiologyOphthalmologyOncology
YearGeneral Practice & Internal MedicineNeurologyUrologyDermatologyENT medicineGynecologyPediatricsPneumologyOrthopedics and RheumatologyDiabetologyCardiologyOphthalmologyOncology
2016Janssen-CilagAstellasInfectoPharmJenapharmInfectoPharmBoehringer IngelheimRoche
2015BiogenAstellas JenapharmInfectoPharm BayerRoche
2014Berlin-ChemieBiogenAstellasGaldermaJenapharmInfectoPharm Novo Nordisk Roche
2012Berlin-ChemieNovartisAstellasBasileaJenapharmInfectoPharmBerlin-Chemie BayerBoehringer IngelheimAlconRoche
2008NovartisJanssen-CilagAlmirall HermalHexalJenapharmInfectoPharmMSDMSDAlconRoche
2007MSDJanssen-CilagAstellasHexalJenapharmInfectoPharmMSDSanofi - AventisPfizerRoche
2006AstraZenecaJanssen-CilagAstellasNovartisJenapharmInfectoPharmBoehringer IngelheimMSDSanofi - AventisAlcon
2005PfizerEli LillyBayerNovartisJenapharmInfectoPharmBoehringer IngelheimMSDNovo NordiskRoche
2004PfizerPfizerTakedaHermalJenapharmInfectoPharmBoehringer IngelheimMSDNovo NordiskAventis
2002MSDJanssen-CilagTakedaEssex PharmaScheringInfectoPharm

Pharma Award: Most innovative Produkt

Award for most innovative produkt in the medical sectorThe effectiveness and tolerability of the products, and the benefits observed so far in the use of the treatment are particularly decisive in granting the Pharma Award for innovation “Most Innovative Product”.

Early benefit assessment of medications

The medications chosen by doctors in response to the open question “what is the most innovative product?” had generally been introduced in the 36 months prior to the spring release of the annual survey, or had received an extension that was significant to the treatment development process. The Pharma Trend results are therefore highly valuable in the early assessment of the benefits of the medications. Thus, Pharma Trend provides a picture of the benefits of a medication, rather than having to rely solely on the observations of patients who have received the treatments so far.

“Most Innovative Product” 2017 Award Shortlist

The special feature of the “Most Innovative Product“ award in comparison with other accolades within the pharmaceutical industry, is the jury: the benefits of the medication are evaluated exclusively by doctors, based on their experiences of the application of the treatments among their patients.

The following medications are the winners of the award:

  • Jardiance by Boehringer Ingelheim (Diabetology)
  • Kyleena by Jenapharm (Gynecology)
  • Ocrevus by Roche (Neurology)
  • Stelara by Janssen Cilag (Gastroenterology)
  • Zinbryta by Biogen (Neurology)

“Most Innovative Product” Winners since 2000:

YearGeneral Practice & Internal MedicineNeurologyUrologyDermatologyENT medicineGynecologyPediatricsPneumologyOrthopedics RheumatologyDiabetologyCardiologyOphthalmologyOncologyGastroenterology
YearGeneral Practice & Internal MedicineNeurologyUrologyDermatologyENT medicineGynecologyPediatricsPneumologyOrthopedics RheumatologyDiabetologyCardiologyOphthalmologyOncology
2015ForxigaTecfidera Lemtrada BrintellixXtandiEsmyaBexsero Trulicity Imbruvica
2014ForxigaTecfideraBetmigaMirvasoJaydessBexsero TresibaEyleaKadcyla
2012XareltoGilenyaZytigaToctinoZoelyInfectodexa KruppBydureonXareltoLucentisAfinitor Zelboraf
2011DaxasGilenyaLevitraToctinoQlairaInfectodexa KruppProliaVictozaLucentisTasigna
2010PradaxaValdoxanPriligy DuodartToctinoQlairaPrevenar 13OnbrezProliaLucentisNplate Iressa