Novo Nordisk takes 8th place in the Pharma Trend Ranking 2020

Novo Nordisk steht auf Platz 8 im Pharma Trend Ranking 2020Novo Nordisk is ranked 8th in the multidisciplinary ranking “Best Pharmaceutical Companies in Germany” 2020 in the category “Research-based, world-leading pharmaceutical companies in terms of sales”. In the Pharma Trend, Novo Nordisk was honored for innovation for the last time in 2014 with Tresiba® (long-acting basic insulin), which received the “Most Innovative Product” award from diabetologists in the Rx category.

Novo Nordisk, the Danish diabetes pioneer

Novo Nordisk, headquartered in Bagsvaerd/Copenhagen, is one of the world’s leading companies in the field of diabetes and metabolic diseases. In 1985, for example, the Danes launched the first insulin pen on the market. In addition to insulins, diabetes and obesity drugs, Novo Nordisk researches and produces hormones and blood coagulation drugs. Group sales in 2019 amounted to approx. EUR 16 billion, of which approx. 84% was in the field of diabetes. Half of sales went to North America, 19% to Europe and 11% to China. Almost 12% of sales were invested in research and development. The Phase I diabetes studies are mainly conducted at the German headquarters in Mainz with its approximately 470 employees. Novo Nordisk employs around 42,700 people in 80 countries worldwide.

In addition to insulins, the main sales drivers are the injectable GLP1 agonists liraglutide (Victoza®) and semaglutide (Ozempic®) for diabetes and obesity. Novo Nordisk has developed the first tablet with such a GLP1 agonist: Rybelsus® (oral semaglutide) for the treatment of type 2 diabetes in adults, which is already available in the USA and Canada, Sweden, Denmark and Switzerland. Further applications of the tablet (including obesity, combination with insulin), new insulins with an extremely long duration of action (weekly), and beta cell therapies for type 1 diabetes are in the pipeline.

The company claims to consider social and ecological aspects in addition to economic ones in all decisions (principle of the “triple bottom line”). Novo Nordisk’s main shareholder is the non-profit Novo-Nordisk Foundation. Other Novo Nordisk foundations are established to improve access to diabetes and haemophilia treatment in developing countries.

Tresiba®: the most innovative product for diabetologists

In Pharma Trend, Novo Nordisk has long been one of the most sustainable and innovative pharmaceutical companies in Germany among diabetologists. The last time the research-based company received the “Most Innovative Product” award was in 2014 for its long-acting basic insulin Tresiba®. The decisive factors for the diabetologists to give the award were its therapeutic properties (83%), improved efficacy (44%) and the extension of therapy (28%).

Multiple awards for Novo Nordisk for innovation and sustainability

Novo Nordisk has received the award “The Golden Tablet” for innovation and sustainability several times since the start of the benchmark study Pharma Trend in 2000, for the first time in 2004. Four more Golden Tablets followed. In the Rx category, Novo Nordisk received the “Most Innovative Product” award in 2004 for Levemir®, 2011 for Victoza® and 2014 for Tresiba®.

Awards for innovation and sustainability since 2000:

  • The Golden Tablet (2018, 2015 – 2014, 2005 – 2004)
  • Levemir® (2005)
  • Victoza® (2011)
  • Tresiba® (2014)

Novo Nordisk steht auf Platz 8 im Pharma Trend Ranking 2020

Novo Nordisk steht auf Platz 8 im Pharma Trend Ranking 2020Novo Nordisk steht auf Platz 8 im facharztübergreifenden Ranking „Beste Pharma-Unternehmen Deutschland“ 2020 in der Kategorie „forschende, nach Umsatz weltweit führende Pharmaunternehmen“. Im Pharma Trend letztmalig für Innovation ausgezeichnet wurde Novo Nordisk 2014 mit Tresiba® (langwirksames Basis-Insulin), das von den Diabetologen in der Kategorie Rx mit dem Award „Das innovativste Produkt“ ausgezeichnet wurde.

Novo Nordisk, der dänische Diabetes-Pionier

Novo Nordisk mit Stammsitz in Bagsvaerd/Kopenhagen gehört zu den weltweit führenden Unternehmen im Bereich Diabetes und Stoffwechselkrankheiten. 1985 brachten die Dänen z.B. den ersten Insulin-Pen auf den Markt. Neben Insulinen, Diabetes- und Adipositas-Medikamenten erforscht und produziert Novo Nordisk Hormone und Blutgerinnungsmedikamente. Der Konzernumsatz belief sich in 2019 auf ca. 16 Mrd. Euro, davon ca. 84% im Bereich Diabetes. Die Hälfte der Verkäufe gingen nach Nordamerika, 19% nach Europa, 11% nach China. Knapp 12% des Umsatzes wurden in Forschung und Entwicklung investiert. Die Phase-I-Diabetesstudien werden überwiegend am deutschen Hauptsitz in Mainz mit seinen rund 470 Mitarbeitern durchgeführt. Weltweit beschäftigt Novo Nordisk in 80 Ländern rund 42.700 Mitarbeiter.

Haupt-Umsatzträger sind neben den Insulinen die injizierbaren GLP1-Agonisten Liraglutid (Victoza®) und Semaglutid (Ozempic®) bei Diabetes und Übergewicht. Novo Nordisk entwickelte die erste Tablette mit einem solchen GLP1-Agonisten: Rybelsus® (orales Semaglutid) zur Behandlung von Typ-2-Diabetes bei Erwachsenen, das bereits in den USA und Kanada, in Schweden, Dänemark und der Schweiz erhältlich ist. In der Pipeline sind u.a. weitere Anwendungen der Tablette (u.a. Übergewicht, Kombination mit Insulin), neue Insuline mit extrem langer Wirkung (wöchentlich), und Betazell-Therapien bei Typ-1-Diabetes.

Das Unternehmen nimmt für sich in Anspruch, bei allen Entscheidungen neben wirtschaftlichen auch soziale und ökologische Aspekte  zu berücksichtigen (Prinzip der „Triple Bottom Line‟). Hauptanteilseigner von Novo Nordisk ist die gemeinnützige Novo-Nordisk-Stiftung. Weitere Stiftungsgründungen von Novo Nordisk sollen den Zugang zur Diabetes- und Hämophiliebehandlung in Entwicklungsländern verbessern.

Tresiba®: Das innovativste Produkt der Diabetologen

Im Pharma Trend gehört Novo Nordisk bei den Diabetologen seit langem zu den nachhaltigsten und innovativsten Pharmaunternehmen Deutschlands. Das forschende Unternehmen erhielt letztmalig 2014 mit dem langwirksamen Basis-Insulin Tresiba® die Auszeichnung mit dem Award „Das innovativste Produkt“. Ausschlaggebend für die Diabetologen zur Vergabe des Awards waren die therapeutischen Eigenschaften (83%), die verbesserte Wirkung (44%) sowie die Therapieerweiterung (28%).

Mehrfach Awards für Novo Nordisk für Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit

Novo Nordisk erhielt seit Start der Benchmark-Studie Pharma Trend in 2000 mehrfach für Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit den Award „Die Goldene Tablette“, erstmals 2004. Vier weitere Goldene Tabletten folgten. In der Kategorie Rx erhielt Novo Nordisk den Award „Das innovativste Produkt“ 2004 für Levemir®, 2011 für Victoza® und 2014 für Tresiba®.

Awards für Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit seit 2000:

  • Die Goldene Tablette (2018, 2015 – 2014, 2005 – 2004)
  • Levemir® (2005)
  • Victoza® (2011)
  • Tresiba® (2014)