Pfizer is on 10th place in the Pharma Trend Ranking 2020

Pfizer steht auf Platz 10 im Pharma Trend Ranking 2020

Pfizer is ranked 10th in the interdisciplinary ranking “Best Pharmaceutical Companies in Germany” 2020 in the category “Research-based, world-leading pharmaceutical companies in terms of sales”. In Pharma Trend, Pfizer received its last award for innovation in 2019 with Xeljanz® (colitis ulcerosa), which was honored by gastroenterologists in the Rx category with the “Most Innovative Product” award.

It all started with Karl Pfizer

Pfizer is the world’s second largest pharmaceutical company with sales of USD 51.8 billion in 2019 – after Roche, followed by Novartis. Founded in 1849 by two Germans in New York, the company now employs around 97,000 people worldwide. In Germany, 2,500 employees work at the company’s headquarters in Berlin, the sales department for Germany in Karlsruhe and the globally important production site in Freiburg (which covers 90% of its energy requirements from renewable sources).

Pfizer’s research and therapeutic areas include internal medicine, oncology, neurology, infectiology and immunology, as well as vaccines and rare diseases. Important sales drivers (2019) are Ibrance® (breast cancer), Eliquis® (stroke, thrombosis), Xeljanz® (rheumatism, psoriasis, colitis) and Vyndaqel® (amyloidosis). Pfizer’s generic division, Upjohn, merged with Mylan in 2019.

Research and development expenditure for the entire Group in 2019 amounted to USD 8.65 billion, or 16.7% of sales. Phase III trials are underway, including JAK inhibitors for severe atopic dermatitis, alopecia areata and ankylosing spondylitis, eight anticancer drugs, four orphan drugs and six vaccines. One of these is the mRNA vaccine against Sars-CoV2, which has been developed in collaboration with the German company Biontech, Mainz, since March 2020.

Pfizer developed initiatives for sustainability (“Green Journey”) in research and production. The Pfizer Foundation supports health-related projects worldwide.

Xeljanz®: The most innovative product for gastroenterologists

In the Pharma Trend, Pfizer has long been one of the most sustainable and innovative pharmaceutical companies in Germany among gastroenterologists, neurologists, oncologists, pediatricians and urologists. The last time the research-based company received the Xeljanz® award for “Most innovative product” was in 2019. Decisive factors for gastroenterologists to give the award were the innovative mode of action or novelty on the market (55%), improved efficacy (36%) and form of application (27%) as well as simplified dosage (18%).

Multiple awards for Pfizer for innovation and sustainability

Pfizer has been awarded the “Golden Tablet” award for innovation and sustainability four times since the launch of the Pharma Trend benchmark study in 2000. For the first time, Pfizer received the “Most Innovative Product” award in 2000 for Viagra®, 2003 for Zeldox®, 2007 for Sutent® and 2010 for Prevenar 13®. In 2015, Eliquis® and 2019 Xeljanz® followed.

Awards for innovation and sustainability since 2000:

  • The Golden Tablet (2007, 2005 – 2003)
  • Viagra® (2002 – 2000)
  • Zeldox® (2003)
  • Sutent® (2007)
  • Prevenar 13® (2010)
  • Eliquis® (2015)
  • Xeljanz® (2019)

Pfizer steht auf Platz 10 im Pharma Trend Ranking 2020

Pfizer steht auf Platz 10 im Pharma Trend Ranking 2020Pfizer steht auf Platz 10 im facharztübergreifenden Ranking „Beste Pharma-Unternehmen Deutschland“ 2020 in der Kategorie „forschende, nach Umsatz weltweit führende Pharmaunternehmen“. Im Pharma Trend letztmalig für Innovation ausgezeichnet wurde Pfizer 2019 mit Xeljanz® (Colitis Ulcerosa), das von den Gastroenterologen in der Kategorie Rx mit dem Award „Das innovativste Produkt“ ausgezeichnet wurde.

Es begann mit Karl Pfizer

Pfizer ist mit Umsatz von 51,8 Mrd. USD im Jahr 2019 der zweitgrößte Pharmakonzern der Welt – nach Roche, gefolgt von Novartis. Das 1849 von zwei Deutschen in New York gegründete Unternehmen beschäftigt heute weltweit rund 97.000 Menschen. In Deutschland verteilen sich 2.500 Mitarbeiter auf die Hauptverwaltung in Berlin, den Vertrieb für Deutschland in Karlsruhe  und den weltweit wichtigen Produktionsstandort Freiburg (der 90% seines Energiebedarfs aus erneuerbaren Quellen deckt).

Forschungs- und Therapiegebiete von Pfizer umfassen weite Bereiche der inneren Medizin, Onkologie, Neurologie, Infektiologie und Immunologie, des weiteren Impfstoffe und Rare Diseases. Wichtige Umsatzträger (2019)  sind Ibrance® (Brustkrebs), Eliquis® (Schlaganfall, Thrombosen), Xeljanz® (Rheuma, Psoriasis, Colitis) und Vyndaqel® (Amyloidose). Die Generikasparte von Pfizer, Upjohn, fusionierte 2019 mit Mylan.

Forschungs- und Entwicklungsausgaben des Gesamtkonzerns beliefen sich 2019 auf 8,65 Mrd. USD, entsprechend 16,7% des Umsatzes. In Phase-III-Studien befinden sich u.a. JAK-Inhibitoren gegen schwere Atopische Dermatitis, Alopecia areata und Morbus Bechterew, acht Krebsmittel, vier Arzneimittel bei seltenen Erkrankungen sowie sechs Impfstoffe. Einer davon ist die mRNA-Vakzine gegen Sars-CoV2, die seit März 2020 in Zusammenarbeit mit der deutschen Biontech, Mainz, entwickelt wird.

Pfizer erarbeitete Initiativen zu Nachhaltigkeit („Green Journey“) in Forschung und Produktion. Die Pfizer Foundation unterstützt gesundheitsbezogene Projekte weltweit.

Xeljanz®: Das innovativste Produkt der Gastroenterologen

Im Pharma Trend gehört Pfizer bei Gastroenterologen, Neurologen, Onkologen, Pädiatern und Urologen seit langem zu den nachhaltigsten und innovativsten Pharmaunternehmen Deutschlands. Das forschende Unternehmen erhielt letztmalig 2019 mit dem Xeljanz® die Auszeichnung mit dem Award „Das innovativste Produkt“. Ausschlaggebend für die Gastroenterologen zur Vergabe des Awards waren das innovative Wirkprinzip bzw. die Neuheit auf dem Markt (55%), eine verbesserte Wirkung (36%) und die Applikationsform (27%) sowie die vereinfachte Dosierung (18%).

Mehrfach Awards für Pfizer für Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit

Pfizer wurde seit Start der Benchmark-Studie Pharma Trend in 2000 bereits 4 Mal für Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit mit dem Award „Die Goldene Tablette“ ausgezeichnet. Erstmals erhielt Pfizer den Award „Das innovativste Produkt“ 2000 für Viagra®, 2003 für Zeldox®, 2007 für Sutent® und 2010 für Prevenar 13®. In 2015 folgten Eliquis® und 2019 Xeljanz®.

Awards für Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit seit 2000:

  • Die Goldene Tablette (2007, 2005 – 2003)
  • Viagra® (2002 – 2000)
  • Zeldox® (2003)
  • Sutent® (2007)
  • Prevenar 13® (2010)
  • Eliquis® (2015)
  • Xeljanz® (2019)